International Committee on Scientific Ethics and Accountability


Nomination for the 2007 Nobel Prize in Chemistry of

Professor Ruggero Maria Santilli
President, The Institute for Basic Research
Palm Harbor, Florida, U.S.A.

NOTE: The name of the distinguished scientist who filed the nomination and its affiliation have been removed because inessential. The scientific content of the nomination is the important part.

September 15, 2007

To Professors Gunnar von Hejne,
Astrid Graslund, Sven Lidin,
Anders Liljas, Lars, and
Hakan Wennerstrom
Members, Nobel Committee for Chemistry
The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
Box 50005, SE-104 05 Stockholm, Sweden

Permit me to bring to your attention, most respectfully, the deplorable condition of scientific ethics and accountability in chemistry caused by the current political dominance of quantum chemistry. This condition requires the intervention of the Nobel Foundation as the most effective way to re-establish basic values. At the same time, lack of action by the Nobel Foundation may acquire the connotation of complicity in a basically unethical condition.

Quantum chemistry has indeed permitted huge advances in the 20-th century, but the current widespread belief of its final character is scientific corruption due to known limitations requiring unobstructed search for suitable covering theories. Among the limitations limpidly identified by Professor Ruggero Maria Santilli in his historical monograph [1], I quote:

1) The notion of valence bond is a nomenclature without quantitative content because it does not identify the origin of the bonding force; it does not prove that the bond is attractive; and it does not show that such a force verifies experimental data. At any rate, according to quantum chemistry, two identical electrons should repel and definitely not attract each other.

2) The current notion of valence does not restrict the correlation to two electrons, thus implying that all molecules are paramagnetic in disagreement with nature. This was proved by a graduate student from the independence of the orbitals and their consequential orientation under an external magnetic field.

3) The use of unadulterated quantum axioms has prohibited the exact representation of molecular binding energies, with the historical missing of 2% in the representation of the binding energy of elementary molecules such as H2 and embarrassing deviations for large molecules.

4) The latter insufficiency stimulated the use of "screened Coulomb potentials" that did indeed improve the representation of experimental data (for which you granted Nobel Prizes in chemistry), but the underlying theory was still called "quantum chemistry" while in reality the very notion of quantum of energy is impossible for any screened Coulomb potential. Alternatively, any belief of quantized orbits for potentials of the type V(r) = f(r) qQ/r is scientific corruption.

. 5) The use of quantum chemistry for chemical reactions or thermodynamical calculations is raising serious issues of scientific ethics and accountability because the basic axioms and mathematics of quantum chemistry are reversible over time while chemical reactions are irreversible. Hence, the former cannot possibly be exact for the latter. As an illustration, another graduate student has calculated the finite probability under quantum chemistry for the spontaneous decay of the water molecule H2O => H2 + O after its synthesis 2H + O > H2O.

Following the disclosure of the above limitations by monograph [1], organized interests are now attempting to suppress much needed advances via academic power, in full awareness that basic advances are needed to resolve our increasingly alarming environmental problems. The Nobel Foundation is perceived as being directly responsible for this condition due to its notorious support for orthodox theories to date. The best way to correct this perception is to grant the 2007 Nobel Prize in Chemistry to

Professor Ruggero Maria Santilli
President, The Institute for Basic Research Palm Harbor, FL 34683, U.S.A.

This nomination is based on the following historical discoveries by Prof. Santilli:

I) Basically new mathematics known as Santilli iso-, geno- and hyper-=mathematics;

2) Corresponding broadenings of quantum mechanics under the name of hadronic mechanics;

3) Corresponding broadenings of quantum chemistry today known as hadronic chemistry that indeed resolve limitations 1), 2), 3), 4) and 5); 4) A new chemical species known as Santilli magnecules now receiving large financial investments;

5) New clean energies and fuels currently under full industrial development following millions of dollars of investments (see, e.g.,

Nominations of Prof. Santilli for the Nobel Prize in Physics are in your record since 1984. This makes Prof. Santilli one of the biggest scientists in history due to such momentous discoveries in mathematics, physics and chemistry. Hence, the qualifications of all Nobel Prize recipients are nowadays compared with those of Prof. Santilli not only for the absence of truly basic advances, but also for the absence of value for the resolution of our environmental problems.

I sincerely hope that, for mankind's sake, the Nobel Foundation changes the on going unreassuring trend in support of old doctrines and initiate the support of much needed basic advances.

Yours, Truly


[1] R. M. Santilli, Foundations of Hadronic Chemistry with Applications to New Clean Energies and Fuels, Kluwer Academic Publishers, Boston-Dordrecht-London (2001).
Russian Translation 555 pages

[2] R. M. Santilli, "A new gaseous and combustible form of water," IJHE, Vol. 31, 1113 (2006) Download pdf format of this paper

[3] R. M. Santilli, "The novel magnecular species of hydrogen and oxygen with increased specific weight and energy content," IJHE Vol. 28, 177 (2003) Download pdf format of this paper


Professors Storch, Marcus, Chairman,
Öquist, Gunnar; Sohlman, Michael; Jörnvall,
Hans; Wallenberg, Jacob; Mjøs, Ole D.; Gräslund,
Astrid; and Sundqvist, Bo;
Board of Directors
The Nobel Foundation
P.O. Box 5232, SE-102 45 Stockholm, Sweden

and to

Professors Per Carlson (Chairman)
Lars Bergström, Börje Johansson, Björn Jonson,
Ingemar Lundström, and Joseph Nordgren
Nobe;l Committee for Physics
P.O. Box 5232, SE-102 45 Stockholm, Sweden

Copyright © 2007 by the International Committee for Scientific Ethics and accountability
P. O. Box 1577 Palm Harbor, Florida 34682, U.S.A. Email: